Oh I’m sorry, were you not looking for the world’s most delicious home-made granola? Well… this… is… awkward. Because this is the world’s most delicious granola (at least by my standards, and I’m fairly convinced that my feelings on granola are the only ones that matter?). I’m not normally a person who is really into this whole granola business, in winter I usually go for slow cooked oatmeal, and in summer it’s usually a banana as I run out the door (the curse of the chronically late). But I had some spare time yesterday, and as luck would have it I also had a large bag of steel cut oats and some quinoa that had been staring at me resentfully for weeks begging that I found a purpose for it.

I’d been wondering lately about what else I could use quinoa for other than my stand-by of quinoa tabouleh or as a general salad base, but I’d never even considered that I could use them raw. But as it turns out… you totally can. And oh my God I might have just stumbled across quinoa’s true purpose. Roasting it slowly in the oven with steel cut oats, raw almonds and walnuts, it transforms from a fairly humble little seed into some sort of crunchy super food. My one gripe with granola is usually that it starts off all crunchy and delicious but once you add milk it rapidly melts into soggy, textural mush. Not so with this granola! The quinoa makes tiny, crunchy nuggets of deliciousness that are happily interspersed throughout the whole affair and would make it worth adding to the mix even if it wasn’t packed full of protein that will keep you full for even longer than your standard oat granola.

 

I also might have fallen a little bit in love with how moreish raw walnuts and almonds go once roasted in honey and cinnamon. The walnuts in particular seem to intensify in flavour and become almost umami-eque, rich and delicious enough that I may have already started picking them out of the mixture as I type this like the world’s most delicious scavenger hunt.

This recipe is my personal preference, but you can easily adapt it to fit your own needs. I’ve already started thinking about adding chia seeds and dried apricots to my next batch, but if you like raisins, pecans maybe even brazil nuts – these would all be delicious in it. And while it’s delicious on it’s own as a cereal you could also use it to top greek yoghurt, as part of a fruit crumble topping or even go really nuts and mix it into your pancake batter for amazing granola pancakes.

I mean… all of those suggestions imply that you will be able to resist just eating it straight out of the jar. Which I am definitely not doing even as I type this. No… that would be delicious. I mean ridiculous!

Hey, this is a no judgement blog.

Recipe below the cut.

Quinoa, Walnut and Almond Granola

2 1/2 cups steel cut oats
1 cup raw quinoa
1/2 cup raw almonds, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup raw walnuts, coarsely chopped
1/3 cup rice bran or coconut oil
1/2 cup honey
1 tablespoon cinnamon
2 tablespoon LSA
1/2 cup roasted almonds, whole

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees centigrade (360 fahrenheit) fan bake. In a large bowl, mix your oats, quinoa, raw almonds, raw walnuts and LSA.

Add your oil, honey and cinnamon and mix that business up all together until all the dry ingredients are well coated in the liquids.

Line a baking tray with baking paper and spread the mixture in a thin layer across it. Try to spread it as evenly as you can or else it wont all cook at the same time.

Bake for 30-50 minutes, flipping the mixture occasionally to allow everything to get a chance to brown. There is quite a wide margin for cooking time here because it all depends on how toasty you like your granola to be. I like mine very crunchy and browned so I let it cook for the whole 50 minutes, but also note that towards the end of cooking time you will need to flip it more often to stop anything from burning.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool on the baking tray.

Once cool, break apart (it should crumble fairly easily, but again the amount you will want to break it apart will depend on how chunky you like your granola to be), and mix in the whole roasted almonds.

Store in an air-tight jar or in the fridge. It should keep for a few weeks this way but honestly… there’s very little chance that in my house it will last that long.

 

 

